How do I love thee?

Into the wilds. The scene Alex recites forbidden poetry to Lena and the Poem from Elizabeth Barrett Brown. Beautiful. With thanks to ice-ridden for the drawing!

How do I love thee? Let me count the
ways.

I love thee to the depth and
breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I  love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I  love thee with a passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I  seemed to lose With my lost saints,
I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

10 responses to “How do I love thee?

  1. Before you read the excerpt parts of Elizabeth Barrett Brown in Delirium were you familiar with the poem? Or did the book make you go out and search for the rest of it? Let us know bellow!

  2. This is a wonderful poem! Its repetition was fascinating! I saw the book delirium in the library and was fascinated by what the book was about. I haven’t had a chance to read it, but I will search for it with renewed interest!

    Adieu, scribbler

    • Scribbler! That is wonderful to hear! I can say that Delirium is a book you will not be disapointed with (Of course I am bised) But when you have read it be sure to come back and let me know your thoughts on it! 🙂

  3. I didn’t know the poem before I read the book, and it didn’t make me search the rest of it. I was so caught up in te ending and trying to get pandemonium I forgot!

  4. Pingback: Falling in to love « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog·

  5. Pingback: “Patience Is Bitter, But Its Fruit Is Sweet.” « Becoming is Superior to Being·

  6. Pingback: DeLeDesserts·

Share what's on your mind

