37 Brooks Street Episode 2

This month’s 37 Brooks Street discussion will focus around The Disease and Cure!

I am sure everyone here has a opinion on the subject, but lets take a moment to place ourselves within this world. Where as children we are brought up fearing love. No doubt if we had lived within this world we would have been just like Lena at the start of Delirium, counting down the days to our procedure. Or would you have been a bit more like Hana? Wanting that last fling of fun, as an act of rebellion before you settled down to your predefined fate!

Then we have the anomalies, where the cure didn’t quite work right, or we only know of the one, Lena’s mother, where the cure failed to work on her several times! This is a whole other debate in itself but could she be the answer to the uncure of the cure?

So let us know your thoughts on Love as a disease and the thought of living in a world where you would never have the fear of having your heart broken, where your partner would be chosen for you, and your choices were not your own. Comment bellow!

2 responses to “37 Brooks Street Episode 2

  1. If I lived in Lena’s world, I would be like Lena. I would count the days until my procedure, never break any rules, never break curfew, practice for my evaluation so I will get a high score. I defently have a best friend like Hana, wild, funky, pretty, rebellious. It was very hard to write this because we know love as a good thing because thats what we have grown up with. We all know we want to be like Hana, and we all automatically say we would be like Hana, because we don’t take time to think deeply about it. I say go invalids, (Alex forever ❤) I would not take the cure in a million years, but if I had grown up in Lena’s world I would be most like her.

  2. Just imagine the presure you would feel to get a good evaluation score? It would be like all our school exams rolled into one, but this would impact your entire life. Then you would get the settleing feeling that all would be well. I think the way It is pressed upon you in the society I would seam perfect and hard to resist, with love being made to sound so horrid. I think most of us would run for our cure, as the other side is seen as a horror!
    Of course I will always be an Invalid 😉 daydreaming away x

Share what's on your mind

